About us: history, genealogy, Americana Catalog



Washington County, NY History

Washington County, NY history

We are happy to offer our first items of genealogy and local history from Washington County, NY, and we plan to offer additional items of historical interest soon.


Now Available for Download


The Washington County chapter in Mather & Brockett's Geographical History of the State of New York (1848). Brief, but still an important part of the historical record of Washington County and its communities.  In addition to the five pages specifically about the county, we also include the section from Mather & Brockett dealing with land grants and patents in New York State.   5++ pages, PDF format, download now for $2.75.

Wasington County - Mather & Brockett - 1848


The Washington County chapter from French's Gazetteer of the State of New York (1860). Here is a look at Washington County a bit over a decade after Mather & Brockett's treatment of the subject.  The localities mentioned in this chapter, many of which are still extant today, are:  Argyle, North Argyle, South Argyle, The Hook, Cambridge, Center Cambridge, North Cambridge, Buskirks Bridge, Dresden, Easton, Easton Corners, South Easton, Crandalls Corners, Union Village, Gatesville, Fort Ann, Griswolds Mills, West Fort Ann, South Bay, Canes Falls, Comstocks Landing, Fort Edward, Fort Miller, Fort Edward Center, Durkeetown, Granville, North Granville, Middle Granville, South Granville, Greenwich, Mountain, East Greenwich, Center Falls, North Greenwich, Galesville, Battensville, Lakeville, Hampton, Hampton Corners, Low Hampton, Hartford, North Hartford, South Hartford, Log Village, Hebron, North Hebron, East Hebron, West Hebron, Belcher, Slateville, Jackson, Jackson Center, Colla, Anaquassacook, Kingsbury, Sandy Hill, Moss Street, Pattens Mills, Dunhams Basin, Vaughns Corners, Adamsville, Langdons Corners, Smiths Basin, Putnam, Putnam Corners, Salem, Shushan, Eagleville, Clapps Mills, Fitches Point, White Creek, North White Creek, Posts Corners, Center White Creek, Ash Grove, Dorrs Corners, Pumpkin Hook, Martindale Corners, and Whitehall. 

11 pages, in PDF format.  Download now for $3.00.

Washington County, NY



Washington County was separated from Albany County in 1772.  At that time, it was called Charlotte County, but it was renamed Washington County in 1784.  Parts of Washington were transferred to Vermont in 1790.  You may also want to consult our Albany County page and our page about Vermont for locations that may have been affected by these transactions.

Other counties were subsequently removed from Washington County in whole or in part.  Please see our separate pages for the following counties:  Clinton County and Warren County.


CLICK HERE to return to our New York State page



Visit our BLOG



Find us on Facebook

Contacting us:

Between the Lakes Group is located at 372 Between the Lakes Road, in Salisbury, Litchfield County, Connecticut.  More specifically, we're in Taconic -- a hamlet  in the Twin Lakes area of the Town of Salisbury.  Questions about us or about our products?  Go to our Frequently Asked Questions page.  

Postal address:
Post Office Box 13
          Taconic, CT  06079-0013
Electronic mail:
Please Contact us to contact us via e-mail